The Holy Rosary Parish Of Nedlands

The Parish of Holy Rosary, Nedlands was established in 1931. There are about 400 regular parishioners, although the number of non-practising or occasional Mass-goers is higher. Families have settled in the area for a number of generations and tend to be well-educated, with a range of professions represented.

In addition to the parish church, the Carmelite Monastery (Adelma Road Nedlands) is a parish Mass centre.  Saint Thomas More College (Mounts Bay Road, Crawley) is also located within the parish.  

While the parish has a considerable number of faithful seniors, there are young families and young people who are part of the community. The University of Western Australia is within the parish. One of the challenges for the parish is the formation of young people who have left school or are in the last years of schooling. Another is to reach out to “lost sheep” or those who are far away from the Church.  

The parish has strong ties with the Loreto Nedlands Primary School which is located near the parish church.  

Parish activities include the Parish Pastoral Council, the Saint Vincent de Paul Society, the Finance Committee, a Christian Meditation Group, a Prayer Group, a music co-ordinator, monthly youth Mass, acolytes, altar servers and special ministries, the Catholic Women’s League, the World Day of Prayer, support and work of chaplains in non-Catholic schools, catechists in the sacramental programmes, a social committee, children’s Sunday Liturgy etc 

The parish community has a very friendly face. It enjoys great support and contributions from many of its parishioners.

Mission Statement

We, the faith community of Holy Rosary, Nedlands,

commit ourselves to continuing to be a community that welcomes all,

that they may find truth, compassion, peace and healing.

We seek to build a place

where all may find God’s true presence in the sacraments and in each other.

We seek to look beyond ourselves

to the needs of our neighbour and the world.

Parish Team

Fr Gavin Gomez (Parish Priest)

Sr Dolores Coffey RSM (Pastoral Associate)

Mrs Enid Macoboy (Secretary, Mon & Fri), Mrs Cecilia Hill (Tue, Wed, Thu)

Mr Mike Davila (Chair of the Pastoral Committee) 

Mr Laurie Elliott (Chair of the Liturgy Committee)

Mr Brian McHenry (Chair of the Finance Committee)