The First Sacraments 2025 application will be open in November 2024. Further information will be announced in late October 2024.

Please email if you have any questions.




Start day & date: Monday, 26/2/2024   Start Time: 4.30  PM

Venue: Holy Rosary Community Centre, Tyrell St, NEDLANDS WA 6009, Room 1



Start day & date: Tuesday, 12/3/2024   Start Time: 5.00  PM

Venue: Holy Rosary Community Centre, Tyrell St, NEDLANDS WA 6009, Room 2



 Start day & date: Wednesday, 21/2/2024 Start Time: 4.30 PM

Venue: Holy Rosary Community Centre, Tyrell St, NEDLANDS WA 6009, Room 2


Please email if you have any questions.




The Church, in Christ, is a sacrament - sign and instrument of communion with God and of the unity of the entire human race.  The one mediator, Jesus Christ, established and constantly sustains here on earth his holy church, the community of faith, hope and charity.

The seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church are the visible signs of God’s grace and love through Jesus Christ.  They are at the centre of Catholic life and worship.

In the various liturgical celebrations of the sacraments, the community is enabled to grow in faith, is confirmed in hope and fired by charity, in order to go forth in service of God’s kingdom of justice, peace and love.

Christ Jesus sealed the new covenant in his blood.  The Paschal Mystery of his Death and Resurrection has created a new People of God, from all nations and languages which is one in the Spirit, that is a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation.

Each Parish, set up under a pastor who takes the place of the bishop, in some way represents the visible church established throughout the world.  Regularly, the community celebrates the Eucharist, source and summit of Christian life and the other sacraments and worship services.

Through the liturgical life of the parish, above all in the common celebration of the Sunday Eucharist, we are united with the bishop snd with the universal church, sharing our faith and hope and graced to continue Jesus’ mission of service in the world.

The Sacraments of initiation are Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist.
The Sacraments of healing are Penance (reconciliation), Anointing of the Sick.
The Sacraments of calling are Marriage (matrimony) & Holy Orders.




“Baptism” is a Greek word which means “to plunge”, “to immerse”.

It is the first and chief sacrament of forgiveness of sins and the “door” by which a person becomes a member of Christ’s church. Baptism also opens the door to the other sacraments.

Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist constitute the “sacraments of initiation” by which a believer:

Receives forgiveness of sin.
Begins a new life in Christ and the Holy Spirit, and is incorporated into the Church.

The rite of Baptism involves immersing the candidate in water, or pouring water on the head, while pronouncing the invocation of the Holy Trinity: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. (cf Catholic Catechism, p 867)

Baptisms at Holy Rosary Parish, Nedlands

Parents who wish to have their child(ren) baptised at Holy Rosary are asked to submit a completed registration form as early as possible.

They should make an appointment to meet with the Priest at least four weeks beforehand.

At least one of the Godparents must be a Catholic and any special circumstances should be highlighted in the registration form.



The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) is a process (meaning no formal written examinations) for those interested in becoming Catholic or who are Baptised and want to complete their Sacraments of Initiation of First Holy Communion and Confirmation. This is also an ideal opportunity for non-Catholics who just wish to enquire into Catholicism who may feel that this is where God is calling them. I will be commencing the RCIA process on Tuesday, 11th October 2022 at 7.00 pm in the Presbytery (the building beside the Church), 46 Thomas Street, Nedlands. Anyone who has questions or even want to join in as a refresher for their faith’s journey are also welcome.

If you have any other questions please phone me on 08 9386 1870 or email:

Fr Gavin:



The Sacrament of Reconciliation

The Sacrament of Reconciliation is the celebration in which, through God’s mercy and forgiveness, the sinner is reconciled with God and also with the church.

One of the “precepts of the church” is to “confess one’s sins at least once a year”.

The four essential elements of the Sacrament of Reconciliation are:

  • sorrow for sin
  • the confession of sin
  • the intention to reform one’s life, and
  • the prayer of absolution.

At Holy Rosary parish, confession is offered from 5:15pm to 5:450pm each Saturday at the Church, or by prior arrangement.

Anointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick involves prayer and an Anointing the Sacrament is for those who are sick, those who are troubled in any way, those who are carrying burdens and those who are sorely tempted.

Anointing (often called “Healing”) Masses usually take place on the:

  • 1st Saturday of the month at the Holy Rosary Parish Church at 9.30am ;
  • 3rd Saturday of the month at the Carmelite Monastery at 7.30am (8 am Public Holidays);
  • 2nd Thursday of the month at the Regis Aged Are Facility 10:30am Mass.

For those who are approaching death, the church provides Viaticum: an Absolution, the Anointing and Holy Communion.

Please contact the Parish Office if you need help.



Your Marriage

Getting married is one of the most important steps a person can take.

In the free and unconditional relationship of marriage, a life-long covenant of love and honour is established between husband and wife, a relationship which blossoms in an ever-deeper love between the couple, and in the gift of the family through children.

It is in marriage and in the family that most people work out their salvation and that the faith is nurtured in children.

Christ honours marriage with the dignity of a sacrament.